Support Your Designers

Copyright issues are still a big problem for many designers. Kirsten at TGOS has just posted the following which will help us all do what we need to do to keep within copyright and support designers who work hard to produce beautiful patterns for us. It informs us what we can and can’t do. I need to make minor adjustments to my finishing pages by adding year of copyright and check the resolution of the pictures. I have always tried to add as much info about the pieces so that everyone who likes a piece knows who designed it so they can get their own chart for their stash collection

Many cross stitch designers are now working together to fight this continuing battle. If you know of copyright infringements, please write to needleworkdesigners @gmail.com

2 Responses to Support Your Designers

  1. Helen says:

    I recently purchased a beautiful stitching book. I wrote to the designer asking if I could publish a picture of the book as I wanted to do a write up on it in my blog. I also asked if it would be possible to pass on one of the little tips she gave in the book as I had found it extremely useful. I said that is she said no to anything it would be respected. I never got the curtosy of a reply even to say no.

    I think if designers wish to be respected then they should respect the people who buy there designs in the first place. Respect and honour are two way ties.

  2. I think it’s great that you published this. Many people are not aware that they should not share patterns. It hurts me to see so many patterns scanned and published on blogs, it is just not right.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

